Apr – 2023
Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa Su
27 28 29 30 31 1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30

CONCERT PERFORMANCE | April 22, 2023 | Athens, Greece

I live . love . fight . fail . survive
I, a human being, want to be heard and seen. In a fusion of music, film and performance, Camerata Europæa presents moments of daily life. 

Camerata Europæa (CE), inspired by the kaleidoscope of unique current events in the world, presents a cultural program for the year 2022/23 under the motto I AM HUMAN. New perceptions, new morals, new technologies, and ultimately a whole new world, shape modern man. With the progress of science and the evolution of technology, man has comprehended previously unimaginable concepts, marking great and admirable achievements. However, the powerful mechanisms of modern society focus and reward mainly ethical hedonism, materialism, the questioning of principles and the tearing down of essential moral standards, while cultivating the ego and self-deification. Today’s society promotes transience and mechanization of everything, which alienates man from his fellow man, causing their spirit to shrink and their souls to become drugged. There is a myopic, materialistic, economic-technical, if not wrecking approach to solving essential socio-geopolitical problems, while the quest of wisdom, the deepening of culture, and the cultivation of collective solidarity are no longer the main contemporary anthropocentric goals. A lot needs to change! Transcending boundaries and major upheavals (Status quo) can be achieved by a burst of intellectual culture. After all, our history has proven that intellectual and artistic awakenings always precede political and social revolutions. Culture gives existence quality and depth, breathes life into the essential and sheds light on what is important but neglected, while at the same time expanding human existence as a means of transcendence.

Saturday, April 22, 2023, 7:00 pm | Megaron The Athens Concert Hall SFM, "Giannis Marinos" Hall (former Multipurpose) | Athens, Greece
Works by Peter Tschaikovsky (Serenade in C major), Stavros Lantsias (The River of Time, The Prelude of Return, The Waltz of the Eyes), Evanthia Reboutsika (Stathmos, Through You)
Performance: Dimitris Stamatelopoulos, Antonius Bacak, Maarten Krielen, Elle Eisner
Video: Antonius Bacak, Elle Eisner | Direction, Screenplay: Elle Eisner
CAMERATA EUROPÆA | Dimitris Hountis, soprano saxophone | Stavros Lantsias, piano | Maria Makraki, conductor

Location: Megaron The Athens Concert Hall SFM, "Giannis Marinos" Hall (Vass. Sophias & Kokkali, Omirou 8), Athens, Greece
Admission 20 € I reduced admission 15/10 €
Tickets at, at and at the box office 

Omirou 8,

back to the overview