Edvard Grieg - The Holberg Suite Op. 40

Edvard Grieg - The Holberg Suite Op. 40 
CAMERATA EUROPÆA - Maria Makraki, conductor 

I. Praeludium (Allegro vivace)
II. Sarabande (Andante) 
III. Gavotte (Allegretto) 
IV. Air (Andante religioso) 
V. Rigaudon (Allegro con brio)

In 1884 Grieg composed a suite in Baroque style on the occasion of the 200th birthday of the poet Ludvig Holberg, who was very well-known in Norway. Taking inspiration from Holberg’s time there are dances and forms from Baroque music here - Präludium, Sarabande, Gavotte, Air and Rigaudon. But they are combined with the melodic and harmonic language of the 19th century, and with Grieg’s characteristic compositional style. In this way the music achieves the charming mix that is the reason for its popularity.

back to the overview